“I, too, dislike it.
Reading it, however, with a perfect contempt for it, one discovers in
it, after all, a place for the genuine.”  

Marianne Moore’s “Poetry”
The Collected Poems of Marianne Moore (1967)

I was never very good at understanding poetry, but then last semester I took a Modern American and British Poetry course, and now I cannot get enough of it.  I have since then taken all the books of poems and written down my favorites in a journal.  Where is a better place to share these poems and why they are important to me than here.

Here is a poem, not by one of my favorite poets, but about one of my favorite themes.

“Among
of
green

stiff
old
bright

broken
branch
come

white
sweet
May

again”

William Carlos Williams‘ “The Locust Tree in Flower”  (Second Version)
An Early Martyr (1935)

I absolutely adore this poem and the way Williams is able to present a reason for hope.  Despite the fact that the branch is broken, spring is coming again, and will always come again.  His juxtaposition through diction, such as “stiff” and “old” with “white” and “sweet,” parallels the way in which we can so easily feel an extreme sense of hopelessness and despair, but can have trust that we will have happiness once again.  We will be renewed once again, for pain does not last for ever.  Suffering does not last forever.  By using creation, nature, the seasons, Williams creates a symbol that we can continue to see through out our lives to remind us that just as spring comes again, so does relief, so does happiness, so does life.

