I have no idea what happened this winter break.  Last break I made a whole stack of books to read and got through more than half of them.  This winter break however, I am already have way done with my break, and I have only finished one book.  I suppose in my defense I have been working like crazy and the holidays were busier than I thought they would be, but it still surprises me.

The book I read this last week was Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks.  I recieved it in my stocking this Christmas, and even though I had began A Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling,  I took a few days aside to read it.  One reason I put my other book aside is that I knew I would be able to finish Safe Haven quickly (Who doesn’t like that kind of an ego boost?).  I also knew that I would love it because what single girl doesn’t love the North Carolina love stories that Sparks has been feeding us for the last decade?

Safe-Haven-Nicholas-Sparks

The novel is centered around Katie, a young woman that has recently moved to the quiet town of Southport with the desire to start fresh.  From the beginning it can be seen that she is on the defensive and does not feel able to trust others, but over time you see her walls come down as she opens up to her neighbor turned friend, Jo, and the general store owner, Alex.  As the novel progresses, you discover what caused Katie to be the way she is and one aspect of the novel that keeps you reading is the desire to see her recover from those past hurts.

I read this book in two days.  It was so good and I could not put it down.  I would recommend it to any female reader and perhaps a few guys, and I will definitely read it again and again throughout my life.

I am very glad I got this novel by Sparks at this moment because it is the next of his books that will become a film.  The trailer has been released and the movie opens on Valentine’s Day 2013 staring Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel.

