This semester has been crazy and clearly I have not been posting very much.  So this is me trying to be optimistic.  I am going to start posting word of the day’s from the readings that I have to do for my classes.  There are always words that I do not know the exact definition for, and therefore this will be a great way for me to improve my vocabulary and post on a regular basis.  I really hope this works.

Todays word comes from Mina Loy’s poem, The Black Virginity.

The word of the day comes from the second line of the poem:

“On green sward”

sward, n.                                                                                             Usually with defining phr. of the earth, etc.: The surface or upper layer of ground usually covered with herbage.

(This definition came from the OED)

