This Memorial Day, I was lucky enough to go to a local’s beach in Laguna Beach with a good group of my friends.  I packed all of the beach necessities; waters, snacks, sunglasses, sunscreen for your body, sunscreen for your face, a hat, and of course… books to read.  Unfortunately, I brought read-in-a-coffee-shop books, not read-at-the-beach books.  I had packed Sense and Sensibility as well as Erasing Hell.  Now I really cannot wait to read these books and am already a third of the way through Sense and Sensibility, however what I needed was a book that I could get lost in but one that wouldn’t take all of my brain power. So this week I read Girls in Trucks by Katie Crouch.

I really enjoyed this book, but it was not what I expected.  I had assumed it was going to be something like Gossip Girl meets the dirty South.  However, the plot is not nearly as dramatic as Gossip Girl‘s.  Also, the setting moves from South Carolina up to New York City.  The novel follows Sarah Walters, a Camellia member who is born with the expectation not only to participate in Cotillion, but to also live a Camellia life with the perfect husband, job, and home. In each chapter she moves through the different parts of her life, different cities of her life , and different romances in her life.  Each one holds a different mistake that she made and a different life lesson that she learned.  I could not put this book down and easily finished it in just a few days.

I would recommend this book to any young woman that needs a beach read to give their mind a break from classical books, stress, or just life in general.  There is a bit of sexuality in it, so this would definitely be PG13. Besides that, this book is amazing and definitely shows the reader that she should live life not trying to please others or gain the ideal life that others have created, but to focus on living the life that will make her happy and that will give her joy.  It also stresses the importance of family and friends by showing those around Sarah that know the good and the bad about her and yet still stand by her side no matter what.

Happy Reading!

